Bolanle Alake Awe (1983-1990)

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

Bolanle AweHistorian, Prof Bolanle Awe was the first woman Director of the Institute of African Studies, University of Ibadan. She was educated at the Church Missionary Society Girls' School, Lagos (1946-50), St Anne's School, Ibadan (1950-51), Perse School for Girls, Cambridge, England (1952-54), the University of St Andrews, Scotland (1954-58), and the University of Oxford (1958-66). She graduated MA in 1958 and DPhil in 1964. She has been engaged in university teaching since 1960 when she joined the staf oe University of Ibadan as a Lecturer in History (1960-66). She worked briefly at the University of Lagos (1966-69) as Reseach Fellow at the Institute of African Studies, and returned to Ibadan where she became Reseach Professor of History (1977). She was National Secretary, Nigerian Assocation of University Women (1962-63), and editor of Lagos Notes and Records (1967-69), and of African Notes (1970-75). In 1973 she was Phelps-Stoke Fellow, African Lecture Series in the USA.

Between 1975 and 1978, she served in the cabinet of the Oyo State Governement, first as Commissioner for Education and later as Commissioner for Trade, Industries and Cooperatives. A spirited humanist, Professor Awe has chaired major international conferences on women in industry and in national development, and she was Chairperson of the Oyo State Committee on the Southern African Relief Fund (1977-78). She is a Life Member of the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs. In 1982 she was, first, Visiting Fellow at Queen Elizabeth House, Oxford, then Associate Researcher, Centro de Estudos Afro-Orientais da Universidade Federal da Bahia, Brazil. Professor Awe has published extensively in the area of Oral History and Women's Studies. She co-edited The City of Ibadan (1967). She was President, Academic Sr-taff Union of Universities, Ibadan Chapter (1982-83). In 1982, she was a recipient of the National award, Officer of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (OFR)